No one has responded to this discussion for at least a year, so this information may be out of date. If you're looking for information about this topic, please search for a more recent discussion or post a new question.

Email groups and GAL

This question is answered This question is answered

Hey guys,

Here is a bit on the my background, first of all I am a freshman studying computer engineering. So I do not have a lot of experience; however, I did work at a IT help desk for three years. I was"designated" to set this up.

Here is a bit of background on the situation, first of all the "company" isn't really a company it is not profit driven and has a VERY fluid structure (if even that). 

Alright so here is the problem. I was wondering if the GAL could be a bit less global. So what I would like is to set up "groups" that I could set users to. Because in this company not everyone knows each other and I don't want people to be able to access the entire list of addresses. So once the user is in one (or multiple) groups he/she can view all the addresses in his/her group but not the entire set.

Here is what I am thinking:

Option 1:

A way to implement what I describe above. This would be ideal

Option 2:

Create multiple GAL's in other words kinda start over for each set of users. I have set up a private domain would I still be able to use that across the different sets of users? Also would someone outside of all those users be able to have access to their GAL even though they are not a part of it?

Option 3:

Just completely disable GAL. The naming procedure is set so I guess this would be ok.

Any information would be great!

Thanks so much,

1 out of 1 people found this post helpful.

Verified Answer
  • Hello Eichman,

Do you want to have different views of the Global Address Book (GAL) for users?