Attention: This page is scheduled to be removed on June 30, 2014. Please refer to the Message Center in the Office 365 admin portal to stay informed about changes to your Office 365 service, including new features and actions you need to take to keep your service running smoothly.


We will schedule your service upgrade in 2013, and let you know in the Microsoft Online Portal and by email about four weeks in advance. We'll inform you of the exact date about two weeks beforehand.

Because we will set the date for service upgrades, we might end up picking a day that's inconvenient for you. If this is the case, you can postpone your service upgrade once it has been scheduled. Use your postpone option wisely: You can only postpone your service upgrade once.

Some customers will also have the option to pilot the service upgrade with a few users through a feature called Early Upgrade.

What to expect during and after the upgrade

How long will it take

While most service upgrades take less than 48 hours to complete, it's completely normal if we need more time to complete the last few tasks. If your upgrade takes more than 72 hours to complete, don't worry, there isn't anything you need to do. The service upgrade team is working diligently to finish upgrading that last mailbox or administrative setting.

Email, people, calendar and more (Exchange)

During the upgrade

Email accounts are upgraded on an individual basis, so different people will be upgraded at different times. Free/busy and other information will continue to work as expected even if one person’s mailbox has been upgraded, while another’s hasn’t.

If you have delegated access to your email account to another person, access should continue throughout the upgrade. In the event that person has trouble accessing your mailbox during the upgrade via Outlook, try using the Outlook Web App.

Access to resource mailboxes (such as for a conference room) or shared calendars should also work throughout the service upgrade.

Outlook

If you are in Outlook when your mailbox is upgraded, you’ll see a message saying “Your Microsoft Exchange Administrator has made a change that requires you to quit and restart Outlook.” Just close and re-open Outlook, and things should continue as before. You shouldn’t need to sign back in to Office 365, re-load your profile or anything else (if you do have a problem with Outlook after the upgrade, ask a question on the forums or call Office 365 Technical Support for assistance). If you have connected your Outlook to multiple Office 365 email accounts (for example, via delegated access or shared resources), this will happen as each mailbox is upgraded.

If you do have a problem with Outlook after the upgrade, ask a question on the forums or call Office 365 Technical Support for assistance. The most common post-upgrade problems are caused by misconfigured Domain Name Server (DNS) settings--namely records used to enable Autodiscover. Learn more about how to check Autodiscover  settings before the service upgrade.

Outlook Web App

If you are using the Outlook Web App in the browser when your mailbox is upgraded, you’ll see a similar message, and will have to sign out and sign back in. When you sign back in, you will be using the new Outlook Web App.

Please note that after the upgrade, spell-check in Outlook Web App requires Internet Explorer 10, which is available for Windows 7 and Windows 8.

Mobile Devices

Mobile devices that use Exchange ActiveSync to connect to Office 365 should be able to access your email throughout the upgrade. Please note that some mobile devices vendors have not fully implemented Exchange ActiveSync, and that users of these devices may be disconnected during the upgrade. Learn more here

Instant Messaging, Conferencing and Chat (Lync Online)

During the upgrade

All of the preparatory work for Lync Online will already have been completed before the upgrade begins. This means that meetings, instant messaging, and person-to-person voice/video calls will not be interrupted during the upgrade.

After the upgrade

Meeting attendees who use the Lync Web App will automatically start using the new Lync Web App. While it’s an unlikely scenario, if you are conducting a web conference at the time the upgrade is completed, a Lync Web App attendee could drop out of the meeting, and then rejoin and be presented with the new Lync Web App.

You will also have a link in the Microsoft Online Portal that installs the new Lync Basic client (or Lync 2013 client if you have Office 365 Pro Plus).

The installation link for Lync 2010 will be available until sometime after 8 April 2014. We'll let you know when the link will be removed via the Message Center.

Sites and documents (SharePoint Online)

During the upgrade

All of the preparatory work for SharePoint Online will already have been completed before the upgrade begins. This means that you won’t have a planned maintenance period when your sites and documents are read-only.

After the upgrade

While your administrative experience will have the new look and feel, your existing site collections will remain as they were prior to the upgrade.

To start using SkyDrive Pro, you will need to run a site collection upgrade on the My site collection.

To use any other new SharePoint features, you will need to run a site collection upgrade on each site.

Office Subscription (SharePoint Online)

During the upgrade

If you have Office Professional Plus 2010 Subscription as part of your service, please note that nothing will happen to your Office client during the upgrade. It will continue to work as usual.

After the upgrade

Office 365 will not install the new version of Office, Office 365 ProPlus, on your computer. There will be a new link in the Microsoft Online Portal to install Office 365 Pro Plus.

You can install Office 365 ProPlus prior to the service upgrade.

The installation link for Office Professional Plus 2010 Subscription will be available until sometime after 8 April 2014. We'll let you know when the link will be removed via the Message Center.