No one has responded to this discussion for at least a year, so this information may be out of date. If you're looking for information about this topic, please search for a more recent discussion or post a new question.

What do I need to setup SSO? Would it benefit me?

This question is answered This question is answered

I have very little experience in IT so bear with me.

1. I already implemented Exchange Online and synchronized every Outlook in the firm with the new mailboxes. I notice that I get asked for the exchange password frequently even if I mark the remember password checkbox. Would single sign-on get rid of this prompt?

2. I only have 3 servers, two of the running AD, DNS, DHCP and backup and of them running the applications and databases. I don't have an exchange, nor do I have any extra servers, is this a problem? Do I need an extra server to run the FS? can I implement it in the situation I am in right now? I read that Exchange must be implemented in order to achive full SSO, to control user mail properties and such, I've never had exchange nor do I plan to purchase licenses for it. Will SSO still work?

I'm sorry if these questions are kind of vague, but I'm really kind of lost.

Verified Answer
  • Hello P3dr0M,

For the first question:
    Once deploying SSO, user will be authenticated via on-premises AD, instead of Office 365. The using experience will depend on many factors. As a result, it’s hard to say that deploying SSO will improve the using experience or not.

For the second question:
    On-premises Exchange isn’t related to SSO. It is related to Hybrid Exchange Deployment. Moreover, if you just need to use SSO without Hybrid Exchange Deployment, on-premises Exchange isn’t essential.
    Moreover, if you deploy SSO, you need at least 2 servers theoretically, one for DC, one for ADFS and DirSync. In addition, if you need to let users can use Office 365 service via Internet directly without VPN, you need additional servers for ADFS proxy.