No one has responded to this discussion for at least a year, so this information may be out of date. If you're looking for information about this topic, please search for a more recent discussion or post a new question.

Read only Mode giving option to save

  • 2 Followers
  • 2 Replies |
  • This post has 1 verified answer |
Answered (Verified) This question is answered
Is there a way to remove this option. The problem we have is that in Excel 2010 our company shares a data base and if an employee is currently using the file, a window will come up saying who is using the file and if you want to view in read only. The problem is that you can edit in this read only mode and when you close it asks if you want to save your version or keep the version on the web. Which cause a problem of overwriting what another employee has entered. Is there a way to prevent this option from coming up?
  • Post Points: 20
Verified Answer
  • Hi tja,

    This is Jonis from Microsoft SharePoint Online Support.

    It sounds like the SharePoint Online Library, where your Excel 2010 spreadsheet database file is stored, has versioning enabled.  With versioning enabled in a library, it is possible to open a spreadsheet and save it back as a new major of minor version.  This allows tracking and management of information as it evolves. You can look at earlier versions, recover them if a file becomes corrupt, or revert back to an earlier version of the file. Versioning is useful for legal or auditing purposes, but is not very useful for databases that are based on a master Excel spreadsheet.  The following link details how-to Disable, Enable and configure versioning for a SharePoint library.

    If that does not answer your question please let me know as I will continue to monitor this thread for a few days and will reply to any additional posts or questions.

    Jonis Estrem

    Microsoft Office 365 SharePoint Support

    • Top 75 Contributor
    • Post Points: 0
All Replies
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)