No one has responded to this discussion for at least a year, so this information may be out of date. If you're looking for information about this topic, please search for a more recent discussion or post a new question.

Hotmail sync, and Exchange

• 4 Followers
  • 10 Replies |
  • This post has 0 verified answers |
Answered (Not Verified) This question has suggested answer(s)

Hi everyone,

I've been using a hotmail account for many years, and I've got about 2GB of emails organised into different folders.

I've signed up for Office 365, and basically, I want to use the Exchange functionality of Office 365 with my Hotmail account.

I've added it as a connected account, and Office 365 has downloaded all the emails from my Hotmail account. 

The problem is, both accounts are not in sync. I have emails from several years ago in my "inbox" marked as being sent yesterday and unread. When I read emails in the Office 365 Outlook web app (OWA), and my Hotmail account (logged in from hotmail.com) are not being marked as read, and vice versa.

Am I missing the point with Office 365, Exchange, and hotmail? Basically, I just want to add Exchange functionality to my hotmail account so I can use the same hotmail address. I don't want to have to log into both Hotmail.com and the OWA to sort out one particular email - I want to just be able to log into OWA (or Exchange on my email client), and have my emails synchronised with the www.hotmail.com account.

Is this possible...?

Thanks for your help,

Anthony

• Post Points: 35
All Replies
  • Hi,

Why include Office 365 in the equation at all? Exchange functionality is already added to Hotmail, just log on to www.Outlook.com instead and enable the new Outlook.com with very similar OWA experience. Also, ActiveSync is available for Hotmail (www.Outlook.com), just configure against m.outlook.com.