The OneDrive for Business library in all SharePoint Online plans in Office 365 comes with 25 GB of storage. There is not presently an option for purchasing additional storage for the OneDrive for Business library.

Note, however, that the storage space in your OneDrive for Business library is in addition to the storage space you get for SharePoint Online sites plus the storage space allocated for each user subscribing to these sites. The baseline limit in most plans is 10 GB for SharePoint Online sites plus 500 MB per subscribed user. Importantly, additional storage can be purchased for SharePoint Online sites. For details on the storage limits for different SharePoint Online plans, see SharePoint Online: Software  boundaries and limits.

If you’re concerned about exceeding the storage capacity of your OneDrive for Business library, consider the following options:

  • Instead of uploading documents to your OneDrive for Business library, upload them to libraries on team sites or community sites you’re following, and in which you have Contribute permission for the libraries.
  • Periodically review the documents you’re storing in your OneDrive for Business library, and delete documents you no longer need. Note that when you delete documents, you also need to empty the recycle bin if you also want to reclaim the storage space.

Other options for storing documents in SharePoint

Uploading to your OneDrive for Business library is typically the best way to store documents, especially since the OneDrive link is always available in the page header. What’s more, it’s easy to share any document with selected people, with no setup requirements beyond opening the Share dialog box, and inviting people to share.

But it also makes sense to consider the lifecycle of a document. For instance, if you’re planning to share a document, and you expect people to discuss it and work on it together, you could store the document on a team site or community site, places where selected people gather with a specific sense of purpose.

Of course, sometimes you might initially store a document in your OneDrive for Business library, but then determine that it belongs in a team site or community site. It’s fine to move documents but it’s important to remember that you or other people with whom you’ve shared the document might have posted links to it, perhaps in a newsfeed. In this case, once the document is moved, these links will no longer be valid and will need to be re-created in order to point to the new location of the document. With this detail in mind, you might want to reconsider uploading certain documents to team sites or community sites in the first place.