Service Availability in Office 365

Office 365 Community Blog

|
Service Availability in Office 365

Written by: Kumar Venkateswar, Office 365 Senior Product Manager

I’d like to introduce myself. My name is Kumar Venkateswar, and I’m a senior product manager on the Office 365 Technical Product Management team. Some of you may recognize my name from my previous role in the Exchange engineering team, where I worked in both the high availability team and the core storage team.

I’d like to take some time to write about service availability in Office 365. Some of my colleagues have already written about the approach that Microsoft is taking with Exchange Online, SharePoint Online, and Lync Online. Because they’re covering some of the details of those components, I thought I would fill in some of the details that don’t belong to any particular workload and talk a little bit about how we look at the suite from an overall availability perspective.

As a start, let’s look at some of the availability features that distinguish Office 365 from on-premises systems that are based on Exchange 2010 Server, SharePoint 2010 Server, and Lync 2010 Server. This isn’t to say that these features would be impossible to implement in an on-premises environment. Some of our largest enterprise customers have been able to achieve very high availability. Take a look at this case study, which shows an on-premises Exchange deployment with 99.999% availability. However, in general, this isn’t possible for many of our Office 365 customers on-premises.  

Office 365 provides these high availability features:

• Redundancy at many levels. With redundancy at the disk, NIC, power supply, server, switch, aggregator, egress networks, datacenter and more, common system component failures are easily recovered from, and functionality and data are available after the recovery, even in disaster scenarios.